Elsa is going on 6 months now which means it’s time to get her spayed.  Having her spayed was something I always knew I was going to do but now that the date is fast approaching I’m finding I can’t really sleep at night.  Not necessarily because of the surgery itself- I know it’s pretty standard, but because we are going to a doctor that I don’t even know.  You see, I’m not exactly a wealthy girl.  I make enough to feed us and to buy toys and clothes and Elsa is all caught up on her vaccines so I’d say we’re comfortable.   But when the veterinarian who I know and love and trust and have visited every 2-3 weeks for the past 4 months, told me the procedure would be $400 I almost fainted.  Don’t get me wrong, I would sell an arm if it was to save Elsa’s life but for an operation that I know another facility would do for much less money,  I had to make the very hard decision to leave Elsa in the care of a stranger.  So we are going to People For Animals, a great organization that knows the importance of spaying and neutering animals and makes it possible for people like me to protect their pets.  I would love to hear how any of you coped with leaving your pets at the vet for the whole day, though.  I know I’m going to be a basket case when I drive off without her.

 

