As some of you may know, I’ve recently begun researching a second dog to add to our pack.  I think Elsa would benefit from having a little brother or sister-she really loves other dogs when the interaction is one on one- and well, we’ve got big hearts for dogs in my family.  Thing is, getting a second dog is a gillion times harder than getting the first.  I can’t just get my next dream dog (which is an Australian Shepherd, by the way) I have to get a breed that will fit in with what Elsa, me, and my boyfriend have already got going.  That is, a dog that will match Elsa’s stamina, playfulness and gentle nature while also being medium sized.  No terriers, no ankle biters, nothing yappy or domineering, nothing lazy or too serious.  Basically I need a Golden Retriever without the 70  lb frame behind it.  While we’re a pretty active bunch, I think an Aussie is a little too high energy for us (le sigh) and on the opposite end of the spectrum, I think anything brachycephalic would struggle to keep up on a hike (though I love me some Frenchies).   Another Cavalier would be an obvious choice but despite this post, John does not think they are “manly” enough (headsmack). So right now we’re between a Brittany and a Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever, but I’d love to hear what any of you suggest.

 

