I would love to report to you all that this week has been a smooth sailing welcome for the new puppy.  Truth is it has been one of the most emotionally ridden, bittersweet episodes of my life.  I have always wanted a house full of dogs and when we finally found the breed and breeder we wanted for our second, I could barely suffer the months of waiting before he arrived.  But something happened last Saturday.  I realized, with a huge lump in my throat, that in two days, it was no longer going to be just me and Elsa.  That not only was something going to interfere with our relationship but that her life was going to be turned upside down.  I’ve mentioned a thousand times that Elsa is very special to me- what I consider essentially to be my canine soul mate-and now I was expected to love another dog?

Of course when we picked Fable up from the airport I was smitten but I knew her heart was hurting.  She wouldn’t look at me, she hid in her crate, she foamed at the mouth.  Instead of being over the moon about having a new puppy I was mortified that I had upset my best friend.  Luckily for me, Elsa has the biggest heart in the world and made sure to let me know that nothing could ever really disrupt our relationship-that night she curled up to me with her head in the crook of my neck like she always does.  I think she learn to love him just as we do.