Our old friend Oreo.  I realized only recently that my initial reaction to Fable was nearly identical to my initial reaction to Oreo.  I found each of their presences intrusive and vaguely annoying.  I found caring for them exhaustive.  I feel I keep my heart pretty guarded, especially considering Elsa fills nearly all of it.  Bringing another dog into my life sometimes gets me spooked that I will have to surrender some of Elsa’s space, that I’ll have to give up a little of her to make room for someone new.  However, through these encounters with other dogs I’ve come to realize there is no reason why my heart simply can’t grow to welcome their love.  Oreo is such a curmudgeon that the first few days with us he wanted nothing to do with Elsa.  By the time his family came to get him we were all so smitten with eachother we didn’t want to say goodbye!   He’s been here twice since then and this most recent visit he even slept in our bed with us.  I wish all the time that I could get back that first week with Fable so that I could have loved him as madly from the start as we all did so shortly after.  I’m posting this because I want to remember it when the next dog joins our family.  Because I don’t want this behavior to become a pattern for me.  Time being stressed and scared and defensive is just time wasted.  All dogs are lovable and one week or 5 days is hardly enough time to realize the beautiful mark that they will eventually, inevitably leave on our lives.  I just need to hang on to that idea…

